Students and professors are involved!

What is it ?

In addition to the international core of urban artists’ creations, Open the Door sought design submissions by artistic teams from educational and artistic institutions around Houston who will collaborate with the artists to create some of a total of 60 doors to be exhibited throughout the area this year. Submissions were carefully examined and winners selected unanimously by a panel of jurors. The final meeting of the Jury for Open the Door took place Thursday February 7, 2013.

The jury was composed of:
Devin Borden, Director of Devin Borden Gallery; Elizabeth Dunbar, Executive Director at Diverseworks;  Romain Froquet, Open the Door Artistic Curator; Rainey Knudson, Founder/Director of Glasstire;  Gabriel Martinez, Assistant Director for the Core Program, Glassell School of Art, MFAH; Claudia Schmuckli, Director of the Blaffer Museum; Linda Shearer,  Executive Director at Project Row Houses;  Anna Tahinci, Open the Door Educational Committee Coordinator; Michelle White, Curator at the Menil Collection.  Jury Chair: Judy Nyquist.